going bananas

yoong soon enjoying a pisang goreng breakfast with dad

Yesterday, a huge, I mean a very huge bunch of bananas was delivered to us on a wheelbarrow by Yong Soon, Stevie’s cousin who is also our immediate neighbour in Tanjong Minyak. His family is not a great fan of plantain, while Coco and I love this fruit and it’s culinary versatility.

While cutting them into combs for easy distribution, I overheard pisang goreng being uttered by my father-in-law.

I woke up this morning knowing I must make some pisang goreng for dad before leaving for Kuala Lumpur.

However, there is this battle of the batters: should I use a crunchy recipe I have stumbled-upon online, or should I use Momsie’s simple batter recipe that is equally inviting?

Looking at the insane amount of bananas, I decided to make both.

golden and crunchy

I can’t tell the difference between the flavours of the 2 batters used. As for the texture, my vote goes to batter recipe picked from The Malaysian Cuisine.

a heart of gold, sweet and delicious

The Chans were quickly snapping up these golden fritters. The light crunch outside and sweet sourish soft pulpy flesh inside literally made me go bananas. You just want more!

Anyway, 2 giant combs came home with us. I am seriously itching to ditch out some delicious banana snacks for my friends in Kuala Lumpur.

Banana Fritters or Pisang Goreng Recipe

picked from The Malaysian Cuisine

INGREDIENTS:-

  • 2 Medium Ripe Bananas (Pisang Tanduk) preferred
  • oil for frying
BATTER:-
  • 100 g All-Purpose Flour
  • 50 g Rice Flour
  • 1 Tbsp Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1 Cup Water

METHOD:-

  1. Combine all ingredients for the batter and mix well.
  2. Pour enough oil into a wok on a medium heat.
  3. Slice bananas into desired serving size.
  4. Coat bananas with batter and fry till golden brown in colour.
  5. Remove and drain on paper and serve while warm.
Leave a Reply

