Chickpea Socca or Farinata

hakkachan

I knocked out too early last night. I was drunk.I forgot and overzealously sipped too much expensive pu’erh served over a bakuteh lunch.

Hubby always label me a “cheap date” cos I rarely could hold alcohol. Who would spent that much if a coffee and tea can knock me out.

In short, I am allergic to caffeine.

Waking up early, I managed to catch the beautiful horizon of the morning sunrise from the balcony of our new home. Now, I am waiting for the cheery Negara-ku anthem to be sung daily by my very young neighbours. They are kids residing and studying in this Muslim boarding school right next to my block. Soon, in another 5 minutes.

I work alternate Saturdays. How I wished this is not a working Saturday?

I would be doing a million other better stuff. I would be happy shopping with Agnes. Like going to the wet market in Happy Garden and having a bowl of curry noodles for my breakfast. Grocery hunting at NSK Supermarket at Kuchai Lama, an awesome place for the best bargain for most produce.

In the afternoon, we will either be hosting a brunch or lunch. Agnes’s kitchen and oven will be fired up all times. I miss the simple food we cook together for a leisure weekend.

At this moment, I am craving for a socca.

Agnes makes the best of socca. Honest, I am biased and I have only ever tried hers. Anyway, trust me because if you know Agnes, you know quality. She stocks the best wine, whiskeys, herbs and spices. Epicurean.

Agnes and I had many great afternoons eating adventure perfecting her socca. Made with very readily available ingredients and in very simple steps. You can either bake it in an oven or fry it over stove in a cast iron pan. We had experimented by “localising” it by adding lentils and shallots, bearable but I still prefer it original and neat.

I think I shall pop over to Agnes’s after work.

I need a serving.

hakkachan

Madagascar multi colored peppercorns.

hakkachan

Rosemary from Agnes’s garden.

hakkachan
CHICKPEA SOCCA RECIPE

INGREDIENTS:-

  • 1 1/4 cup of chickpea flour
  • 300ml water
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground pepper
  • fresh rosemary, a small sprig
  • 3 tablespoon olive oil
METHOD:-
  1. Mix together the flour, water, salt, cumin, rosemary leaves and 2 tablespoons of the olive oil. Let batter rest at least 2 hours, covered, at room temperature.
  2. Heat the oven to 230F.
  3. Oil a 9 inch pan with a tablespoon of olive oil and heat pan in the oven.
  4. When pan and oven are blazing hot, take out the pan and pour batter, and sprinkle pepper evenly.
  5. Swirl pan to let batter sits evenly and quickly pop it back into the oven.
  6. Reduce temperature to 200F and bake for 20 minutes.
hakkachan
Leave a Reply

