Homemade Pandan Kaya

hakkachan

After our successful stint with homemade bread, we want more. We needn’t look very far for excuses in wanting to attempt on homemade kaya.

One, Momsie is around. Two, we bought a tray of eggs and it would be good to consume them. Thirdly, there is a packet freshly blended and sieved coconut milk sitting in the fridge.

I know, we sounded crazy. Nowadays with so many kopitiams sprouting around town, you can have your favourite “roti bakar” or toasted bread with generous spread of kaya on cold butter. No reason to go through laborious process of making a homemade kaya at all, right?

Wrong, wrong wrong.

Homemade is always, BEST!

INGREDIENTS:-

10 eggs

equivalent sugar to eggs

2 tablespoons of sugar to make caramel to add colour (optional)

freshly squeezed milk from 2 old coconut

a bunch of screw pine leaves knotted together

METHOD :-

  1. Always use free range chicken eggs or duck eggs. They are better in colour and aroma. We used normal standard chicken eggs because we needed to deplete stock. Crack 10 of those in a deep stainless steel bowl.
  2. Pour in the sugar and stir till sugar is fully melted. Momsie warned me not to beat but to stir in one direction.
  3. Pour in the coconut milk. Here we had used ready packed ones from the wet market. It did not help us to get a better consistency because there is too much water added into it. Therefore, it is better if we could just buy grated coconuts and squeeze them ourselves. Drop the bunch of screw pine leaves inside.
  4. Bath the stainless steel bowl over a wok of water over medium low heat. Stirring it clockwise.
  5. 20 minutes later, sieve the liquid. Momsie said this will take out unwanted white that coagulated too early.
  6. Continue to bath the mixture for another 40 minutes.
  7. Leave to cool and transfer into jars.
hakkachan

I have a confession, no, I have 2 things to confess here.

One, I am nuts and utterly a kaya fan. Tricky though, I love my kaya thick and eggy. I love my toast with slightly higher a ratio in kaya over butter.

Two, I tried making kaya twice and I flopped miserably.

Now that I had this simple practical exercise with Momsie, I will proudly show you my experiment in the near future.

One thought on “Homemade Pandan Kaya

  1. Yup, homemade kaya is BEST!!!!
    And I would go through the labourious task happily too, so I can have my kaya that’s thick and eggy. Plus, I like mine in the “pulpy” kind of consistency.. not the smooth kind 🙂

Leave a Reply

