love is in the air

Can anyone tell me the name of this plant?

Yes, I am desperate. I am prepared to reward anyone who can come with a name for these beautiful blossoms.

We asked, tweeted and researched the internet but no one has been able to help me identify this pretty blossom. I patiently googled, scanned through all the pink and purple blooms. Night after night, both eyes gone blurry screening rows and rows of digital images of pink and purple blooms. I was hopeful when I saw a few posted on Flickr, however they were just tagged as “lilac blooms”.

Closest I got, the “syringa” – lilac or common lilac. Somehow the floral petals are so different from the ones here. I presumed those from our garden come from this same family.

I find it difficult to start on this blog, all because I cannot address it.

Anyway, I decided to address her as lilac blooms; and lilac means love. How romantic.

Recently, in mid February, mid of our Lunar New Year Celebration, our lilac was flourishing loudly to blend into the spring festivities.

Momsie asked if I had noticed that her lilac is in full bloom. She knows these lilacs in her garden has a very significant place in my heart.

We have a story about how a son borrowed some lilacs from his momsie’s garden, went down on his knees and made a formal proposal of marriage .

Lilac is about love, mind you.

13th DECEMBER 2009

It was a hot Sunday. Sundays are always hot. In Tanjong Minyak, Momsie’s home, it feels even hotter.

That day, our little princess turned 5. I was busy helping Agnes with Margaux’s birthday cake, candles, presents and what not. Sharen and Soon were so sweet, they brought along presents for the birthday girl and her best friend and also cousin, Tic Toc Chan. Soon, all friends and relatives were gathered at the patio. The party begun.

In any family festivities, I am the official photographer. Whether with my favourite G10 or iPhone, I happily shoot. A very large collection has been amassed these last 3 years; a treasure chest for me to dig in and write about our Chan family.

I happened to capture this, one of my favourite and made cover for our wedding invitation card.

Not suspecting anything because I know Stevie adores Margaux very much. Plucking flowers for his princess is a normal thing. Very often, he plucks wild flowers from outside her school compound, ready to greet her when he fetches her from school.

The lilacs were for me!

I blushed. Can you see the flush on my face?

Teary and pleasantly shocked. First time ever in my life, a guy went down on his knees and proposed for my hands.


Of course, I said “YES”.


One thought on “love is in the air

Leave a Reply

